Tuesday, September 24, 2019


Extinguish the Sun formed in the Fall of 2015, emerging out of members of three fairly disparate local acts, chapter seven, Trippin Molly, and Panic Stations.

After releasing their first full-length, Antihero, the band played numerous shows. In the wake of releasing this record, EtS have played in and around the Dixon–Sterling–Rock Falls area with various diverse acts. Beyond playing shows in their immediate area, EtS recorded a session with Carl Nelson in DeKalb for WNIJ’s local music showcase, Sessions from Studio A. The band have also worked to extend their reach to other Midwest cities and bring their music before broader and more diverse audiences.

Around 1 ½ years after the release of Antihero, in January of 2019, they entered Straightaway Productions with local engineer Drew Widolff to record their EP, Oceans, slated to be released later in 2019. Comprised of six tracks of completely new material, this EP shows the band in their true form, experimenting, evolving, and honing their sound, but always remaining true to their initial intent of intensity, melody, and originality.
As 2019 unfolds, guitarists Nick Grobe and Jeremy Toms, bassist Daniel Edmunds, singer Jeremy Miller, and drummer Michael Morley have continued rehearsing and writing songs. With a broad range of influences and musical tastes, EtS work to continue writing compelling songs and releasing them, getting out and performing live as much as possible.
EtS continue booking shows and laying out their schedule for the coming year. You can surely expect to see them in a basement | garage | punk hovel near you soon.

1.Thanks for taking the time to talk to The Grinder! 

You have a new album out, Tell us about it! YES!  We have a new 6 song EP titled “Oceans” that will be out and available on Oct 25th of 2019. We are definitely pumped!

2.Where was it recorded? Is all the material new?

 All 6 songs are previously unrecorded, although a couple of them have been kicking around in the practice space for awhile.  We recorded at Straightaway Studios in Morrison IL, with Drew Widolff

3.What is the biggest difference between your last release and the new one? 

Overall I think that the music goes in a bit of a different direction in terms of style, but I also think that the songwriting overall is more developed and there are a lot more layers in each song.

4.Are you signed to a label? , If so which one and how did they help or support the process?

 Nope, no label.  We are self releasing.

5.What has been going on with the band between albums? Did you tour?

 No touring.  We played quite a few shows in 2018, but 2019 was really just about focusing on finishing the songs we wanted to release and then getting them recorded, mixed and mastered as best we could.

6.Do you have any new members? No way! 

 This lineup is solid and I cant really imagine it changing.

7.Who produced the new album and how did they effect the album? 

Drew didnt necessarily act in a “producer” capacity, but he definitely has a great ear and alot of great input that we took.  I think the biggest impact was just the actual studio itself and our comfort level there.

8.Some like to record naked or in the dark with candles , Did you have any strange studio practices?

 Does Miller light count?

9.Of course tell us where to pick up your album and how to learn more about you.

Our first single “In Oceans Deep” released Sept 20th and is currently available on Spotify and Apple Music.  Please do us a favor and check it out there, and if you dig it, follow us and share!  Again, once the EP is actually released it will be available on all big streaming platforms and we’ll have CD’s via bandcamp and of course at every show.

10.What is your plans now that the new album is out?

Once released we definitely want to play more live shows and keep writing.  There are some videos in the works and things like that, but I really think just continuing to play live and keep the music fresh is priority.

Our new song, "In Oceans Deep" is available on Spotify RIGHT NOW!…
Vocals - Jeremy Miller,
Guitar - Nick Grobe,
Guitar - Jeremy Toms,
Drums - Mike Morley,
Bass - Daniel Edmunds

No comments:

Post a Comment